All Events


Country: Monaco

Place: Circuit de Monaco

Monaco Grand Prix

Learn to pronounce the names of the drivers

Formula One's flagship race has been held every year on the Circuit de Monaco since 1929. It is regarded as one of the most prestigious motor races in the world, forming the Triple Crown of motorsport along with the Indianapolis 500 and the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

This race is particularly special for drivers due to the fact that it is held on the streets of Monaco. Due to the setting it also means that the speed average is relatively low in relation to other races on the Formula One circuit.

British driver Graham Hill was known as "Mr. Monaco", as he won the Monaco GP five times in the 1960s, although Brazilian Ayrton Senna holds most tiles with six wins in total. Spanish driver Fernando Alonso has been the only driver to have won the race in two consecutive years with two different constructors, with Renault in 2006 and with McLaren in 2007.

Photos: Thumbnail: Monte-Carlo via photopin (license) Header: Red Bull F1 via photopin (license)

Tags: Formula One

Formula One Drivers

List of Formula One drivers